Birchbox Review – April 2016

April has come around SO quickly! My Birchbox for this month arrived a couple of days ago, and I actually got the chance to sit down and try the products today! This month’s box design is a collaboration with Rifle Paper Co. and I have to say, it’s beautiful! I’m glad I chose the pink version as it’s much more happy and colourful than the green one, IMO. Also included with this month’s goodies is a 25% off voucher to spend at Rifle Paper Co. They have some lovely things on their website, but I was sad to see that they are an American company and so the shipping and possible customs charges might negate the voucher’s use a little. But still! It’s a nice gesture.

birch11.jpg

Box Break Down

– Benefit Cosmetics Dew The Hoola
– LOC One and Done Shadow Stick in Empress Me
– NUXE Huile Prodigieuse
– PARLOR by Jeff Chastain Touchable Curl Cream
– Kueshu Foot Care Cream

birch7.jpg
Benefit Dew The Hoola (Sample Size) – £22.50 RRP // LOC One and Done Shadow Stick in Empress Me (Full Size) – £8 RRP

I was excited to see a sample of Benefit’s Dew The Hoola in my box as I’ve been seeing Benefit advertise their new Hoola range for a while now! I’m not really one for bronzers or self tanning, but I was curious about this range. This is a little sample size, and you could probably get a few uses out of it depending on where you apply it! I tried it on my face, and it blends in well – maybe TOO well – as I was disappointed that it barely made any difference at all, and I have pretty pale skin. It has a tropical, pineapple-y scent, that reminds me of something from my childhood but I can’t remember what!
I wouldn’t go out and buy the full size of this, so at least that’s helped my decision!

LOC is Birchbox’s in-house make-up brand. I’ve always wanted to try a pencil-type eyeshadow so I was happy to get this in my box! It’s a lovely shimmery brown colour, which will go lovely with darker shades to create a smokey eye, or just as a light smokey eye on its own! It applies smoothly and wears well.

birch8.jpg
NUXE Huile Prodigieuse (Sample Size) – £17 RRP // PARLOR by Jeff Chastain Touchable Curl Cream (Sample Size) – £17 RRP

I’m a bit wary of this oil as I have oily skin to begin with, so putting oil on it seems a bit strange to me! This NUXE oil is a blend of six essential oils, plant oils and vitamin E, to give your skin hydration and a velvety sheen. You can use it on your face and body, or in the ends of your hair if it’s particularly dry. I have tried it on the back of my hand, and it does make my skin feel silky and gives a healthy glow! It also smells amazing. I’ll have to try it on my face at some point and see if it makes it even more oily or not, but if it does, I’ll use it on my body instead because the scent is gorgeous.

I was pleased to see that Birchbox obviously read the profile for my hair – I have very thick, curly hair (though it’s very short at the moment!) and I never know what to do with it. I’ve never heard of this hairdresser, but I’m always willing to give curl creams a go! Not sure how well it will work on my short hair, but I’ll have to find out!

birch9
Kueshi Foot Care Cream (Travel Size) – £12 RRP

This made me laugh when I opened up the bag and saw it. Why? Well, I walk home from work for lunch, and on the way home that day I had complained to my friend that walking hurt, and felt like the heels of my feet were burning! So to find this in my Birchbox when I got home for lunch was like a miracle! Haha! I instantly applied it to my poor, dry heels (not sure why they were, I usually have very good feet) and it certainly made a difference! I had much less pain the rest of the day, and my heels don’t hurt at all a few days later. I’d say that’s a win! I’m definitely going to keep using this, even though I never use foot cream usually.

Thanks for reading everyone!

Subscribe to Birchbox – If you use my link, you can also get 50 points (worth £5) to spend in the Birchbox shop, which is awesome!
Subscriptions start from £12.95 a month (free postage!) They have different subscription options that save you money over a year, and you are free to cancel your subscription at any time.

Red
xx

Leave a comment