Birchbox Review – March 2016

Not content with having only one beauty box subscription,  I also signed up for Birchbox! I’d heard good things about them so thought I’d give them a go! The cool thing about Birchbox is that if you like any of the products you can buy them straight from their website! Here’s what I got inside my very first box – March 2016.

birch1

The first thing I saw when I opened up the brown outer mail packaging was this gorgeous little box with a wordsearch all over it, which turns out to be a competition to win £450 worth of beauty treats! I really should do mine, but I almost can’t bear to ruin the lovely box! Haha!
I LOVE the little drawstring bag that everything was inside too! SO cute.

Box Break Down

Arrow Boost Colour Enhancing Lip Balm
– ModelCo More Brows
– Doux Me Comforting Face Mask
– Beauty Protector Beauty Cream Body Lotion
– NUDE ProGenius Omega Treatment Oil
– Number 4 Lumiere d’hiver Reconstructing Masque

birch2

Arrow Boost Colour Enhancing Lip Balm (Full Size) – £11 RRP // ModelCo More Brows Light/Medium (Full Size) – £13 RRP

Arrow is Birchbox’s own brand, so it makes sense that they’d include a full size! This little lip balm is really moisturising and leaves my lips feeling soft. It also changes the colour of the wearer’s lips according to their pH level! Mine turn a lovely pink! I love the slightly minty taste too! Sadly as it’s been in my pocket quite a lot it’s also been through the washing machine… oops! I think it’s still ok though!

I’ve heard of ModelCo before but I’ve never tried any of their cosmetics. I’ve also never used brow gel, so I was really excited to try this! Unfortunately I have quite dark eyebrows so the light/medium colour of this was a little too light for my brows, but I really like the idea of it and it did tame my brows quite a bit. I think I’ll look into getting a darker version of this, and this one can go to my mum who has pretty much zero eyebrows – we tried it on her and it worked amazingly!

birch3

Doux Me Comforting Face Mask (Travel Size) – £18 RRP // Beauty Protector Beauty Cream Body Lotion (Travel Size) – £10.90 RRP

Both of these products are Birchbox exclusives!

I’ve only used the Doux Me face mask as an exfoliator so far (another use for it) but it left my skin feeling really nice and smooth! It has little grains in that help to exfoliate and it smells good too.

Oh my gosh, the Beauty Protector cream smells SO GOOD. Seriously, guys. It’s so sweet! It’s like vanilla and candy floss and once I used it on my hands I wanted to eat them… which could be a problem…! I put it on a dry, itchy burn scar that I have on my wrist and it instantly moisturised it and stopped it from itching. Lovely!

birch4

NUDE ProGenius Omega Treatment Oil (Travel Size) – £58 RRP //  Number 4 Lumiere d’hiver Reconstructing Masque (Travel Sachet) – £36 RRP

I haven’t used the NUDE Treatment Oil yet but I hope to soon, though as I have oily skin I’m a little worried about putting more oil onto it! It says that it nourishes the skin so I’m looking forward to seeing what it does.

The description for the Number 4 masque says that it’s an SOS treatment for your hair. I’ve used half of my sachet so far and it really intensely hydrated my hair so it definitely does what it says! I did find my hair got greasier much faster than usual but I guess that comes from being so nourished!

Thanks for reading everyone! Can’t wait for next month’s Birchbox! I already chose my box design… eeee!

Subscribe to Birchbox – If you use my link, you can also get 50 points (worth £5) to spend in the Birchbox shop, which is awesome!
Subscriptions start from £12.95 a month (free postage!) They have different subscription options that save you money over a year, and you are free to cancel your subscription at any time.

Red
xx

Leave a comment